I Am Better Than Him

July 23, 2012 § 2 Comments

 

We, as Muslims, should never, ever utter the words that we are better than other Muslims as being told to us in the Qur’an. We are always being advised by the Sunnah and the Qur’an that humility is the best way of life.

[Allah] said, “What prevented you from prostrating when I commanded you?” [Syaitan] said, “I am better than him. You created me from fire and created him from clay.” [Surat Al-‘A’raf (The Heights) – 7:12]

Hence, whenever you say, “I am better than him…” , know that it is the words of Syaitan speaking through you.

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to I Am Better Than Him

  • rynnasaryonnah says:

    I think the mistake ppl make is that they tend to be very judgmental. Saying they’re better in spite, jealousy or dissatisfaction almost if you may. Putting the other person down. Which, I’ve always felt isn’t at all what the religion is about. Most times it’s the older generation who do this quite frankly. Although, I have to admit, I am guilty of saying this when I know I’m better AT someone then something – say my job for instance. But that’s just me and the way I see it.

    • Bob Othman says:

      All of us have done this throughout our lives, and myself for sure. And we hate it when people do that especially to us. Though being humble makes us lose nothing.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Am Better Than Him at Write & Wrong.

meta

